The Giant and the Fishes by B K Bass

The Giant and The Fishes

The Ravencrest Chronicles – Book Three

B.K. Bass

Fergus always dreamed of setting sail out on the sea, free of the confines of the city of Seahaven. He never thought he would actually get the chance until tragedy befalls his family. Suddenly, he is thrust into a world of violence, adventure, and coin! Fergus lives the life he always wanted as a pirate, but he is haunted by his past. As the shadows behind him grow ever darker, the challenges ahead muster like a furious storm on the sea. Will he be consumed by his own mind, or will he finally find the atonement for which he strives?

The Giant And The Fishes is the third book in The Ravencrest Chronicles, a series of dark flintlock fantasy novellas set in the coastal city of Seahaven.

Available here:

As the shadows behind Fergus grow ever darker, the challenges ahead muster like a furious storm on the sea. 

MSRP: $4.85

Release Date: February 15, 2019

Formats Available:  ebook.

ISBN:  978-1-949645-26-2

Genres: Fantasy, Dark Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, Flintlock Fantasy, Pirate Adventure

Length: Novella – Approx 80 pages.

Praise for The Ravencrest Chronicles:
(From Amazon Reviewers)

“Excellent read. The world feels real and lived in. The characters are alive and personal. You quickly become invested in them and feel their pain and victories. Wonderful introduction to the world. I am hooked! Mr. Bass reminds me of Fritz Leiber in the visual grittyness of his writing. Makes me feel as though I am walking the streets of Seahaven.”

“The rich description evokes all the senses, transporting you into the world of Seahaven. I enjoyed the cast of scraggly, rough seaside-town characters and the twisty storyline. Will definitely check out the other books in the series.”

“An excellent adventure into the world of Seahaven. Living characters and a vivid city that will draw you in and keep you reading. The author is a master craftsman who weaves a fresh tale of… no spoilers, I wouldn’t dream taking the joy of this book from you. It is a MUST read. High praise!”

“I found the story to be very enjoyable and I do look forward to reading the next book in the series. The characters were developed well and there are a few interesting concepts that add to the story.”

“This is an enjoyable, well imagined, fairly fast-paced read.”

“Can’t wait to see what else this author has in store for us!”

The Ravencrest Chronicles: Omnibus One
(This collection includes The Giant and the Fishes!)


The Hunter’s Apprentice  

Tales From the Lusty Mermaid  

Midnight Masques  (Coming Soon!)

Tapestry of Lies  (Coming Soon!)

Cult of the Shadow Queen  (Coming Soon!)

B.K. is an author of science fiction, fantasy, and horror inspired by the pulp fiction magazines of the early 20th century and classic speculative fiction.  He is a student of history with a particular focus on the ancient, classical, and medieval eras. He has a lifetime of experience with a specialization in business management and human relations and also served in the U.S. Army.  When not writing or helping authors with their work, he is an avid table-top gaming geek.  B.K. is owned by three cats and a Paperanian named Sassy.

Connect with the Author


Lusty Mermaid2
%d bloggers like this: