Posted on

Kyanite Press Volume Three News

Autumn is near, and here at Kyanite Publishing that means a new volume of the Kyanite Press! We’ve had a great year with Volume Two, and the reaction to our transition to longer, quarterly issues was overwhelmingly positive. Our submissions process, editing, and production workflows have all been much smoother this year as a result, and our readers have been very happy with the massive amount of content in each issue. Still, we’re constantly looking for ways to improve not only how we produce the journal, but the quality and value for our readers.

With that in mind, we have a big change coming in Volume Three. We’re still going to be publishing quarterly, and still with the same amount of great content in each issue, but we’ll be changing from the standard journal format (8.5″x11″) we’ve been publishing in so far to a standard digest format (5.5″x8.25″). Here’s some highlights of the advantages of this change:

K-Press-Crystal-Only

LOWER PRICE

This format change, even though it will lead to longer page counts, will reduce the printing cost of the paperback edition of the Kyanite Press. As a result, we will be lowering the cover price to $19.99 for the print edition, and $9.99 for the eBook edition.

K-Press-Crystal-Only

READABILITY

We have experienced a lot of challenges with the two-column format of the journal over the last two years. We feel that switching to a single-column format will make for a more comfortable reading experience for our audience. This will also streamline our production process, allowing more time for editing and proofreading to ensure the highest possible quality in every issue.

K-Press-Crystal-Only

CONVENIENCE

While we love the journal having that newsstand magazine feel, it does get a bit clunky, especially weighing in at two-hundred pages or more. The new format should make the print edition of the Press easier to take on the go and store on your bookshelves. Plus, it should have a more comfortable, less taxing feel in the hands for longer reading sessions.

“Okay, already. So what’s it going to look like!?” I hear this ringing in my ears as I write. So, I suppose with the meat and potatoes out of the way, we can get to the gravy. Here’s the (work in progress) cover for Volume Three, Issue One of the Kyanite Press!

Once we get everybody who’s contributing to the issue set up, we’ll finalize the cover with their names. There might be a tag line or two, but there won’t be as much text on the covers as we had in Volume Two. We’re keeping things simple, and trying not to obscure the amazing art we endeavour to procure for each issue.

We’re very excited about this change, and hope everybody continues to enjoy their journey with us through the worlds of short speculative fiction. Thank you for traveling with us, and we’ll see you between the pages!

Posted on Leave a comment

Author Advice Blog: Points to Remember as You Begin the Journey to Literary Fame

Written by: Aisha Tritle

Wouldn’t it be great if your book could do all the interviews, signings, parties, podcasts, guest blogs, and newspaper articles…while you stayed at home, drank tea (or beer), and worked on the next book?

Oh, well.

An author’s job
encompasses more than just brainstorming, writing, and editing. You’re the face of your book (aside from the cover,
of course). You’re also the voice – not just the voice within the pages, but
the public voice. Outside of writing, author life is all about outreach,
presentation, and publicity, baby.

Below are some points to remember as you embark on your journey to literary fame:

1. There will already be lists online. Because there are already lists online for practically everything.

What sort of lists?
General book bloggers, Sci-Fi book reviewers, blogs looking for authors to
interview…I guarantee someone else has already done the research for you.
Take some time to google and you’ll find lists composed with the contacts you
need. Here are some examples below:

https://blog.reedsy.com/book-review-blogs/

https://kindlepreneur.com/book-review-blogs/

https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/1258171-bloggers-looking-to-interview-authors

Use these lists to book your own blog tour. Bloggers love hearing directly from authors.

2. The Pitch.

Sometimes your book
is enough to get you in, sometimes not. Make sure you know how to pitch
yourself along with your book. You are your book’s ambassador, after all. Are
you able to drive significant traffic to their blog through your social media
profiles? Let them know. Did you just win a writing award? Mention it.

Another thing, though – when it comes to pitching your book to the people on your list, make sure you point out why their reader demographic will be interested. Is the blog name “A Court of Thorns,” with a roses theme? Is your book stylistically in the vein of A Court of Thornes and Roses? Connect the dots for them.

3. Play up what makes you…you.

Whatever makes you unique outside of writing can increase the amount of attention your writing gets. Are you an entrepreneur? Apply to be on a podcast focusing on entrepreneur stories. Do you have a beetle collection? Approach the editorial staff of a magazine for coleopterists to discuss a feature. You get the idea. People who connect with you on one level will normally take interest in what you do outside of that.

4. Play it up on social. Really play it up on social.

Are you on social
media? If not, get on it. You don’t have to go all out and join Tik Tok (unless
you want to, of course), but make sure you have the basics: Instagram, Twitter,
and a Facebook page. Not only will your readers enjoy connecting with you, but
social media is a great tool in building your author brand (a story for another
time).

This is where
presentation comes into play.

Were you featured in
that coleopterist magazine? Don’t be shy. Promo the heck out of it. Squeeze
every last bit of content you can get out of it – tastefully, of course. Don’t
make it seem like that feature is the only
feature you’ll ever get.

But this is your life now. You get featured in magazines. Let the people know.

5. Prep. See if you can get questions beforehand for any recorded interviews.

I don’t know about
you, but I’ve definitely given answers I’ve regretted. Your fans won’t want to
hear silence or incoherent bumbling when you’re asked what your “process” is or
what exactly spurred your journey to becoming a writer. Prep for as much as
possible – and if the interviewer is willing to give you a list of questions
beforehand, get them.

Even better if the interviewer wants to review your answers beforehand to catch any kerfluffles. This will help you avoid situations such as when I told an interviewer that my dad was from “Iowa,” and we went through the rest of the interview with her thinking my dad was from Ireland.

6. Publicity leads to publicity.

Just like one
publishing deal helps lead to the next, publicity leads to more publicity. Your
cred is being established. The more cred you have, the more people will be
interested and take you seriously.

Once you get the
ball rolling, the interviews, features, and followers will start picking up.
The initial push is the hardest, but once you get through that, things will get
easier and the success rate for your outreach efforts will become higher. I
promise.

You’re here to sell books and build your career as an author. Are you ready?

***

Aisha Tritle is a novelist, playwright, actress, musician, marketer and tea fiend. She has studied with famed acting coach John Kirby and at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London. Turning her hand to plays, she completed two One-Act Comedies in 2016: of which, one was recently performed and published in the U.K. Aisha spends her days in sunny Los Angeles producing films, marketing for innovative tech companies, and working on her true passion of writing novels.